needlecraft term lesson! yes i know, just what everyone was clamoring for

I saw this photo at Apartment Therapy, titled “Needlepoint Lampshade”. It’s certainly cute, but it’s not needlepoint; it’s embroidery. I know it’s less than constructive to get upset at non-crafters using terms interchangably, when even crafters do it: the other day I got a Facebook message regarding my “cross stitch” kimono. That’s not cross stitch, it’s bargello. Which is an embroidery stitch, so technically it’s embroidery. Except since I used evenweave, it’s also canvas work.

See, you have to have been doing this shit for as long I’ve been (about 25 years) to be able to keep it straight. When in doubt, just use the term “needlecraft” or “needlework”, which covers any art made with needles and floss or yarn.

Leave a comment