I took some photos this weekend FINALLY!

You guys! It was still 90 degrees all weekend but I decided I DID NOT CARE, summer should be OVER and maybe if I just act like it is I can end it WITH THE POWER OF MY MIND. Or maybe I was just super-bored and itching to get my finger on a shutter button after WEEKS AND WEEKS AND WEEKS of hiding from the horrible apocalyptic hellsummer of south Louisiana. I went somewhere close to home and got going as early in the day as possible (for a Saturday).

Roberts Cove is a community in Acadia Parish, technically part of the town of Rayne but quite rural. It’s one of many communities in south Louisiana with German heritage; France recruited for colonists pretty heavily in the Catholic areas Germany. Roberts Cove was actually predominantly German-speaking right into the 20th century, when WWI put a stop to that. But many buildings in town still bear distinctive Bavarian architectural details, such as the tiny “chapel in the woods” on the grounds of St. Leo. (Although in this case the “woods” is a single enormous live oak.)

These are just cell phone shots, but I shot some black and white, too (still trying to shoot my way through all of the Fuji Neopan that I hoarded).

St. Leo woods chapel

St. Leo woods chapel

St. Leo woods chapel - pieta

St. Leo woods chapel

St. Leo woods chapel

Not an ambitious shoot, but a charming subject and a good one to ease back into the routine.

Like me on Facebook!

Leave a Reply

