treading water, not literally

We got very lucky in the recent flooding; or maybe “lucky” is not the right word: the first house my parents bought when they moved back to south Louisiana was twice destroyed in hurricanes. They had to strip it down to studs and rebuild it after Rita, and when the exact same thing happened in Ike, my mother went “eff this” and they moved. They looked at elevation very carefully when they looked for that 2nd house.

There was flooding all around us, including in town (we live outside the city limits of Abbeville) and we were kind of stuck in our immediate neighborhood during the weekend, and I couldn’t get to work on Monday or Tuesday because the bridges over the Vermilion were closed and LA-14 was under water. But we were fine, I’ve seen more water in the ditches and on the lawns during the average summer thunderstorm. The worst thing we had to deal with was a dog that hates to poop in the rain.

I spent most of the time watching movies on the MST3K YouTube channel and doing cross stitch, finishing two projects:

mori

(The text is my own addition, I found the alphabet by Googling “backstitch alphabet”, here’s a link if you’re interested.)

muffuletta

And I got started on a big project, a copy of the original 1723 map of New Orleans, the pattern is by the same woman who did the hurricane tracking map of the Gulf of Mexico that I did for Mom a few years ago. I’m doing it on 18-count as opposed to over 2 squares of 28 count (so 14, essentially), so the finished project won’t be as large, but the pattern is just as big, so I expect that will occupy me for at least the rest of the year.

Other than that, I’m just waiting for summer to end. I have my October vacation all planned, I’m spending a week in Galveston and renting a studio apartment (via Airbnb) that’s a block from the beach. To say I’m looking forward to it is a massive understatement.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nikolas Kuhl
    Sep 05, 2016 @ 03:20:42

    Hi,
    I send you a message on dreamwidth.org but this website seems to be more up to date, so I give it another try here.

    I’m a filmmaker and musician from hamburg germany an gonna shoot my graduation film in louisiana in a few weeks. I found your journal by searching the internet for images of louisiana, gone-to-rack churches, haunted places, landscapes. I like like your work in style and matter. So I’d love to make contact with you.

    My film will be a fictinal documentary about me, searching for mi twin brother who got lost in louisiana in order to find “God in the wilderness” -which is the working title of my film. He is a very spiritual musician, singer and banjo player, suffers from bipolar disease, believes in supernatural things, and he doesnt exist. So that happens to be the fictional part.

    I’m looking for cinematic places, interesting people who got special connections to spiritual matters, people who may got supernatural abilities that might help me to find my twin brother.

    So, if you like, please write me an email. Maybe we can also meet up and do a little trip together, with our cameras ready to shoot.

    all the best,
    Nikolas

  2. Sarah
    Sep 06, 2016 @ 20:10:16

    Hello Nikolas, thank you for your message. Your film sounds interesting and I would be happy to assist you; I would probably be of more use with regard to the “places” part than the “people” part as I am an introvert and have been mostly a loner when it comes to my explorations. But I could certainly give directions to any places you found interesting, and if you want to go out shooting together I’m open to that.

    One bit of advice I can give you ahead of time: Louisiana is an impoverished state with poor infrastructure, and outside of major metropolitan centers there is not much in the way of public transportation. If you are going to be staying in New Orleans or Baton Rouge but want to shoot in the rural areas, you will probably have to rent a car. New Orleans has Uber, but they will not go far outside of city limits, and there are lots of places that don’t have cell service.

    If that has not scared you off, I invite you to look at my photo albums on Flickr, and feel free to ask me about any locations you think might make a good addition to your film: https://www.flickr.com/photos/11929376@N00/albums. My email address is sarah.kg@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

