Midori Traveler’s Notebook (Part 2)

So a while back I wrote about this planner/journal system and how my introduction to it was a cheap knock-off from Michael’s. Yeah, I went a little bonkers with that. A couple of weeks later I decided to upgrade a bit to a fabric cover that I bought on Etsy, then I discovered that a lot of people make covers in Fields Notes size (I am already a committed Field Notes junkie), then I started adding charms and folders and bookmarks and more inserts… long story short, I am now the owner of 5 TNs total: one standard size, one passport, and three FN-size. I use them all, although of course I don’t carry them all around with me. I’d have to be She-Hulk to manage that.

Last week I saw a post in a Facebook group for buying/selling TN gear where someone was selling a TN brand Airport Edition, the cover that is only sold at the Traveler’s Factory stores in Japanese airports (as far as I know, just Narita and Tokyo). Apparently I thought WELP I GUESS I HAVEN’T BLOWN ENOUGH MONEY ON THIS HOBBY YET, because I wound up buying it, although I did get her to knock $20 off her asking price and include the shipping. BEHOLD:

2016-06-07_10-16-04

The charm is a hamsa, that I added myself.

2016-06-07_10-11-52

It came with this insert. The other is my lightweight paper insert; I’ve taken to covering the boring covers with craft paper.

2016-06-07_10-14-34

More covered inserts.

2016-06-07_10-13-51

I found these vintage camera magnet bookmarks at Barnes and Noble and of course as soon as I did there was a 100% chance they were coming home with me.

2016-06-07_10-14-17

I use the weekly planner to keep notes about photo shoots: what/where/when, weather/light conditions, films/cameras used, etc.

2016-06-07_10-15-09

The kraft paper insert with some stuff from my recent Virginia trip.

2016-06-07_10-13-21

The folder (from Analog Stationers) holds tourism brochures as well as loose items that haven’t made it into the kraft insert yet.

OKAY I’M PRETTY SURE I HAVE NOW REACHED TRAVELER’S NOTEBOOK NIRVANA

Leave a Reply

