Fountains pens #3

It’s full! Actually, since I usually carry 2 or 3 pens in my carry case, and leave another pen or two out on my desk at home, it’s more than full.

Fountain pens #3

Left to right:

  • Jinhao 159. My latest purchase, I just got this last night. Like all Jinhaos, less than $10.
  • Kaweco Skyline Sport. I recently did an eyedropper conversion on this because the dinky little squeeze converter only holds a DROP of ink. It’s a very nice mint green color that never shows up in photographs.
  • Vintage Sheaffer. This was a gift from a pen friend in Canada.
  • Pilot Prera. I got this to replace my old ivory-colored Prera, which I dropped on our stupid tile floor. This is one of my favorite pens.
  • Esterbrook J. I bought this off another pen friend for cheap. A classic mid-20th century pen.
  • Jinhao X750. I bought this pen specifically to use the new J. Herbin 1670 ink, Emerald of Chivor, in. I use another 1670 ink, Rouge Hematite, in my gold X750.
  • Bexley Imperial. This is my most expensive pen, although I bought it through Massdrop and didn’t pay full retail.
  • Platinum Plaisir. Came with a broken converter so I use cartridges in it.
  • Sheaffer 100. I had this inked with Diamine Ancient Copper for a long time, but recently cleaned it and took it out of rotation for a while.

And I just realized that my Kaweco Liliput Brass is nowhere to be found, it’s tiny so it tends to get lost in the wraps.

Not my photo

Not my photo

Aaaaand after the Dallas Pen Show (pens I bought at that shown in a previous blog) I think I’m going to take it easy for a while. I still get emails from Massdrop, but I haven’t seen anything since the Liliput that I NEED to have. The new special edition Vanishing Point was released this week, and it’s gorgeous, but the best price I’ve found is $192 and I’m happy with the VP I just bought in Dallas. Maybe if it’s still around at Christmas, I’ll ask all of my family members to go in on it together. (My birthday money is already earmarked for some Soviet cameras.)

Leave a Reply

