Well! Last month was certainly newsworthy.

SCOTUS both upheld Obamacare and told same sex marriage opponents to take their Bibles and go home, medical marijuana was approved in Louisiana, the asshole who co-wrote Uganda’s “kill the gays” bill is going on trial for crimes against humanity, and I BOUGHT A NEW CAR.

Untitled

Well okay, it’s not BRAND new, but it’s newer by far than anything else I’ve ever owned. It’s a 2014 Nissan Sentra with less than 31,000 miles on it. I bought it from Enterprise, which I did research on and is a totally solid way to get a great deal on car that’s only a year or two old. Brand new cars are a waste of money, anyway. I didn’t get a great interest rate, because I’m basically a ghost when it comes to finances (never had a credit card or owned anything I didn’t buy outright), but they took a chance on me because I made such a large down payment (about 1/3 of the total price), and I can re-finance with my bank in 6-8 months. The car’s new enough that I can get a car loan and not just a shady unsecured loan.

I bought this steering wheel cover last week:

Untitled

YAYISS

So now that I can stop saving literally every penny, I’m making some travel plans. I took 2 days off in February for Muses (although I wound up coming in to work that Saturday), and that’s it other than a few 3-day weekends. I’m in desperate need of relaxation, and I have 10 days of vacation I’m going to lose if I don’t use them by the end of the year, not counting some days around Christmas that I already have on the calendar.

I’m taking the last full week in September off, I’m going to stay at the ‘rents condo in Dauphin Island, Alabama for a few days. That will be a good time for it, the weather will have started to cool down and the kids will be back in school. Then I’m coming home for one night, and driving to Dallas the next morning for the Dallas Pen Show. I’ll stay overnight–I found a great Airbnb listing, it’s a loft space with its own bathroom, the family lives downstairs–and come back the next day.

And then I’m taking the first week in November off. That’s still in the planning stages, but on the 1st I’m most likely going to the town of Lacombe, on the north shore of Lake Pontchartrain. There are a lot of cemeteries in that town that still practice traditional grave lighting on All Saint’s night, and I really want to get some photographs of that. I’ll stay overnight, either in the area or in New Orleans, and then I’m going to Mississippi for a couple of days. I want to explore Union Church, which is the first place my Galbreath ancestors lived in Mississippi before moving on to McComb, and I might go as far as Yazoo City. I’ll probably stay in Natchez while I’m there, I really like that town.

Leave a Reply

