New additions to my Brownie collection

The spring thunderstorms returned last week after a brief hiatus, so no photography for me this weekend. That’s okay, I had several boring errands that I’d been putting off, and the car was overdue for an oil change.

I found myself clicking around the backwoods of eBay while I binge-watched the 3rd season of House of Cards on Saturday afternoon. See, I think I neglected to mention this in my blog entry about my trip out to Tickfaw last weekend, but on my way back home I swung through Baton Rouge to stop at Circa 1857, one of my favorite antique stores. And lo and behold, I found one of my most-desired Kodak Brownies, a Target, for just $25. (Using metrics that are a complete mystery to almost everyone who collects cameras, the market value of this camera has been determined at $6. You will never, ever, EVER find one for that cheap, anywhere. I consider $25 to be a bargain.)

target

That got me thinking of another Brownie I’ve long been on the trail of, the Jiffy, a model which slightly preceded the Target, although later models of the Jiffy and earlier models of the Target were sold at the same time. So that’s how I came to be on eBay. Normally I prefer to buy my cameras in stores, partly so I can make sure the shutter works, but also because it feels more “earned” when I find my cameras IRL. I’m readier to part with money because what are the odds I’ll ever find one again? However, vintage cameras are gaining in popularity, making them rarer finds (especially in good condition) and driving up the prices in stores.

jiffy

So anyway, long story short, I found one I liked, no one else bid on it and I got it for the starting bid of $19.99 and $5 shipping. The seller says the shutter works and they have 100% positive feedback so I suppose they’re trustworthy. Although it doesn’t matter so much, as I primarily want these cameras for their collectibility and Art Deco faceplates. But I like to know I could use all of the cameras I collect, even if I’m unlikely to in some cases.

Now I just need a Beau, and I will have the trifecta of Art Deco Brownies. That one’s gonna be hard though, that model was only made from 1930-1933–the colored ones (blue, green, rose) only until 1931.

beau

Leave a Reply

