Lucky Nine Oil

Lucky Nine Oil

I think this is the last oil that I’ll make for a while. There are hundreds–possibly thousands–of different Hoodoo condition oils, but there are maybe a dozen that you’d use on anything like a regular basis*. This isn’t even one of them, I just made it because I thought it looked fun and I had one more bottle from World Market that wasn’t being used.

Lucky Nine Oil is a very NOLA-specific condition oil, and you’ll always find it in books by NOLA-area workers like Anna Riva and Denise Alvarado. It’s called that because it has nine ingredients, and you’re supposed to add nine drops to your bath for nine days in a row to get what you need. (It’s said to work well for those seeking employment.) Nine–three threes–is an especially lucky number in African-derived magico-religious systems; it’s also a sacred number in Catholicism, folk or otherwise, hence the novena, which literally means “nine” and lasts for (yup) nine days.

Oils:

  • Musk
  • Rose geranium
  • Frankincense
  • Myrrh
  • Sandalwood
  • Orange
  • Bergamot
  • Allspice

Add a few pinches of dried vervain and blend in a base oil that’s light and sweet-smelling, like almond or sunflower. This is an oil where I wouldn’t substitute dried herbs or resins for the oils, because as mentioned, it’s primarily a bath oil, so you want it to be liquid.

*The only one I haven’t attempted to make myself is Van Van Oil. For whatever reason, I prefer to buy it; I like to get it from different sources and compare. Everyone makes it slightly differently: some people make a cheap and easy version with just lemongrass oil and vervain; some people go so heavy on the citronella that it smells like bug spray; some people sweeten it up with lots of lemon verbena. I drove down to Arabi last Saturday to photograph the remains of LeBeau Plantation (look for a blog post about that later), and on my way back through NOLA I stopped at F&F Botanica, where I’d never been before. I was so overwhelmed by their candle selection that I forgot about everything else, and I’m kicking myself for not getting some of their Van Van Oil. I guess I’ll just have to go back soon!

Leave a Reply

