Peaceful Home Oil

Peaceful Home Oil

This one is not, as the kids say, canon. I started with a base of the traditional oil ingredients, but mine has a few extra.

The 3 traditional ingredients for Peaceful Home Oil are lavender, rosemary, and pennyroyal. I used essential oils for the rosemary and lavender, but a local essential oil company mildly freaked out on me when I inquired on their Facebook page if they carried pennyroyal essential oil. They were like NOOOOO THAT DAMAGES YOUR LUNGS IN EVEN SMALL AMOUNTS DO NOT USE IT IN AROMATHERAPY, which was weird because I thought even in aromatherapy they diluted the oils? Undiluted essential oils are overpowering at the very least, and a lot of them can be irritants or even harmful. Anyway, I was like uhhh chill, it would be diluted in a large amount of carrier, but thanks, I’ll just go elsewhere. Anyway, I decided to use it a dried herb instead of an oil.

To the rosemary and lavender oils I added sandalwood oil, which is associated in Hoodoo with happy homes and keeping out evil. And to the pennyroyal I added a pinch of shredded angelica root, which is a powerful guardian and healer; and a small piece of pyrite, because what do (adult) members of a household argue about more than money? The carrier I used was sweet almond oil.

Blue is the color in Hoodoo that corresponds with family matters and spiritual peace, so of course I decided to put it in the little blue bottle that I bought last month. It probably contained medicine of some sort originally. Like the bottle I used for the Uncrossing Oil, the original cork was long gone, so I whittled down a wine cork, then dripped melted sealing wax over the top. Keeping oils in dark glass bottles is practical too, because it keeps out light. Light will makes oils get rancid faster.

So this is my own personal recipe for a supercharged Peaceful Home Oil. It can be used for dressing candles, anointing objects used in Peaceful Home spells, added to floor washes or bathwater. Use it, share it, I would prefer you not sell it but realistically it’s not like I would know.

Leave a Reply

