Uncrossing Oil

Uncrossing Oil

Going over some oil recipes last night, I realized I had all the herbal ingredients for Uncrossing Oil–a staple oil of rootworking–so I whipped some up old school, just dried herbs and olive oil. This isn’t a perfumey oil like XXX Algiers, and the herbal ingredients are all savory as opposed to flowery, so in this instance the olive oil smell doesn’t bother me.

Uncrossing Oil is bay, rue, and hyssop. Bay and rue are both protective herbs; hyssop is the most powerful cleansing herb there is in rootwork, due to its mention in the 51st Psalm: “Purge me with Hyssop; wash me and I shall be whiter than snow”. Hyssop is said to remove sin, many rootworkers will take an herbal bath of hyssop after performing not-so-nice work for themselves or clients. My guess is it’s in Uncrossing Oil because if someone is working against you, there’s an even chance you might have done something to deserve it.

As you can see, this is an old Listerine bottle–it only holds about 1.5 ounces, so it must have been a sample bottle or a travel-size. The lid was long gone, so I “carved” a cork out of a wine cork, then made it totally airtight by dripping melted sealing wax over the top.

Leave a Reply

