LC-A+: Holy Rosary Institute, Lafayette, LA

I found this abandoned Catholic high school by accident a couple weeks ago, when I was driving to Breaux Bridge. I’m sure I’ve driven past it before, but never noticed it. I went back there on Saturday (leaving early in a pretty much futile attempt to beat the heat).

It’s behind a chain link fence, but rule #1 of abandoned building photography is never underestimate the power of local teens to make holes in chain link. As it happened, sneaking onto the property turned out to be unnecessary. There was an elderly gent mowing the property, and he said so long as I didn’t try to enter the building I could walk around. The building isn’t safe, some of the floors have collapsed and it’s full of asbestos.

384147-R1-03-22A

384147-R1-11-14A

384147-R1-09-16A

384147-R1-08-17A

384147-R1-06-19A

384147-R1-04-21A

384147-R1-22-3A

384147-R1-16-9A

And the new batteries did the trick, obviously. So this is the 35mm I’m bringing to California.

Like me on Facebook!

Leave a Reply

