photo slide lamp

I decided to make a lampshade out of some of the photo slides, since they look nice when light shines through them. I figured it had been done before, so I Googled it and sure enough found some photos and instructions. I didn’t follow any one set of instructions exactly, I sort of just used them for basic inspiration and then made the actual process up as I went along.

PICT1118

I used all landscape slides. I wanted to make the whole thing out of the beach/ocean slides, and there were enough, but about half of them were in plastic frames instead of cardboard and I couldn’t punch holes in them. And I experimented with painting a couple of the slide frames black, but it was too hard to keep the paint off the actual slide. Anyway, I like all the handwritten notes and the Kodachrome logos, it’s part of the charm.

I bought a cheap lampshade at Target and tore off the material for the frame. I also bought the lamp base there, both of them together were $20. The rest of the material was about another $15, so it really didn’t cost that much to make.

I used a leather punch to make the holes and I didn’t measure, I just eyeballed it. I think I did a pretty good job; there are a few slides that are hanging ever so slightly askew, but overall they look pretty straight–I used jump rings big enough give me a little leeway. I hadn’t planned to put charms on the bottom, I wound up doing it because I’m kind of a moron sometimes I forgot that the bottom row doesn’t need holes punched in the bottom. So then I had to put something there, but once I did I realized they both make the lamp look more finished and keep the rows of slides pulled straight.

I’m really happy with it, it was fun to make and casts a soft, subtly colored light. From a distance it almost looks like stained glass; up close you can discern each individual photo.

Like me on Facebook!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. trippybeth
    May 28, 2013 @ 08:51:02

    That is beautiful!!! Brilliant idea!!

  2. flmaryg
    May 29, 2013 @ 05:34:12

    I love this! What a great idea. Makes me want to try this right away!

Leave a Reply

