Clinton, LA


PICT0834, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

Clinton is the parish seat of East Feliciana Parish; parish seats aren’t necessarily the largest towns in their parish (although Abbeville is), and the population is only about 1,600–far less than nearby Jackson, where I’m having the next meetup. That was supposed to be tomorrow, but it looked like rain so I moved it. Plus it’s a holiday weekend, people might have plans.

It’s a pretty town, with gently rolling hills; lots of trees; and narrow, meandering streets.


PICT0800, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

St. Andrew Episcopal Church is a classic Carpenter Gothic structure built in 1871. Unfortunately it was locked so I couldn’t photograph the inside. Even though I’m an atheist, I’m still of the opinion that churches shouldn’t be locked during the daytime!


PICT0801, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

There’s something about Episcopal churches that really appeal to me. In rural Louisiana at least, they don’t go for “grand” and “soaring”, like Catholic churches. They seem to aim more for “cute”. Most of the churches I have photographed in south Louisiana have been Episcopal churches, even though it’s such a heavily Catholic area.


PICT0828, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

They have a pretty impressive courthouse. One day I’d like to photograph ALL the parish courthouses in Louisiana and make a postcard book.


PICT0830, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

PICT0812, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

The Confederate cemetery. The veneration of the idea of the Confederacy really chaps my hide, because THERE ARE STILL QUITE A FEW BLACK PEOPLE LIVING IN THE SOUTH, HELLO. (Also because if they’d actually won the Civil War, I’d now be living in a 3rd world country.) But Confederate soldiers as individuals were still people who deserved a decent burial, so the cemeteries don’t bother me.


PICT0818, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

Obviously not everyone buried there was a soldier, there were quite a few children’s graves.


PICT0822, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

This was something I found without looking for it. According to the sign out front, it’s The Marston House, which made me laugh because isn’t the name of the spooky house in ‘Salem’s Lot? Anyway, it was so big that I would have had to be standing in their across-the-street neighbor’s front door to have gotten the whole thing in the shot. I’ve got to start using my wide angle camera again.

Like me on Facebook!

Leave a Reply

