LC-A+: Krewe of Muses

Happy Mardi Gras! It’s kind of a yucky day today, but I had my celebration last week.

I used 1600 film, but it was a moving parade hours after sunset so there’s still a lot of blur. That’s the kind of photos I like to take of people, though. I’m not a fucking studio portraitist.


689591-R1-34-34A, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

Pussy Footers.


689591-R1-28-28A, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

The Rolling Elvi.


689591-R1-20-20A, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

Stilt walkers. I would break my neck if I tried to do this.


689591-R1-09-9A, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

Some high school dance troupe, I forget which one. (And this is why I get pissy when people make ignorant boob-flashing cracks when I say I’m going to a Mardi Gras parade.)


689591-R1-06-6A, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

689592-R1-27-29, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

689592-R1-20-22, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

Rollergirls.


689592-R1-35-37, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

Lady Godivas Riding Group.


689591-R1-13-13A, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

Heh heh heh. This year’s theme was “Makin’ Groceries”. Making groceries is a NOLA colloqiualism for food shopping. The most common explanation is that it’s derived from the French expression “faire son marché”, to do one’s market shopping–faire is literally translated as “to make” but it’s also used in the sense of “to do”.


689591-R1-07-7A, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

Like me on Facebook!

Leave a Reply

