Holga 135BC: St. Francisville, LA

I went to St. Francisville on Saturday. I’d been there before, during a Christmas holiday before I moved to Louisiana. But it was just to see a couple of plantations and I never really saw the town. It’s adorable and very picturesque, and there are lots of antique stores I didn’t even go into, so I will definitely be going back. Fun fact: the town was the capital of the “Republic of West Florida” for 90 days in 1810. That was basically just like the Bear Flag Republic in California, a group of American emigrants into Spanish colonial territory “seceded” and petitioned President Madison to annex them to the US, and he obliged by adding them to the Louisiana Purchase territory. Whatchoo gondoo, Spain?!

This camera is a Holga TLR that shoots 35mm, and when it works it’s great. But there’s something wrong with the film advance, and I wound up with a lot of unintentional double exposures. I’ll have to see if it can be fixed. It’s only been used a few times, but I’ve had it for 2 years, so I doubt it’s still under warranty.

I also shot about 2/3 of a roll of Kodak Ektar (this is Fuji Superia) that’s still in the camera, and 2 rolls of 120 in my “Asiana” Diana clone that was sent to Dwayne’s Photo.


685114-R1-13-4A, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

This is one of those “unintentional double exposures” that I think kind of works. It’s the Grace Episcopal Church (and cemetery) of West Feliciana parish, the 2nd oldest Episcopal church in the state. Obviously Catholicism is the default faith in this state, but for some reason I always find Episcopal churches are more charming and photogenic.


685114-R1-09-8A, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

685114-R1-06-11A, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

685114-R1-08-9A, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

685114-R1-05-12A, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

685114-R1-01-16A, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

This is Afton Villa Gardens. It used to be a house, but it burned to the ground in the 1960s, and the owners either couldn’t afford to or just couldn’t be bothered to rebuild, and constructed gardens all over the property. The site of the house still has exterior steps and bits of wall.


685114-R1-03-14A, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

Like me on Facebook!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Juliana
    Nov 01, 2012 @ 16:39:04

    Gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

