submission: CURRENTS 2012

Hurricane Rita totally destroyed my grandparent’s house in 2005. When I moved to Louisiana 5 years later, there was nothing left. I took this series of photos in and around the village of Henry, LA to remind myself that the storm didn’t destroy everything.

I’m more nervous than usual about this submission, because I can’t help but think that my habit of using so many different cameras is going to count against me. Like the judge will look at it and go “Ugh WTF, this is all over the place”. But hey, I am the kind of photographer than I am. I’M A FREE FUCKING SPIRIT, YOU CAN’T CHAIN ME TO ONE CAMERA!!

 


LC-A+: Perry, LA 14, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

 

 


rice silos 2 (B&W), originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

 

 

 


cow cemetery 21, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

 

 


landry cemetery 3, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

 


granny’s property 2, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

 


plant in tree, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

This exhibit will be displayed during PhotoNOLA at the Ogden Museum of Southern Art. It would be a personal milestone to be in a museum, and a LOT of people would see my work. Notification is October 15th!

Like me on Facebook!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helen
    Oct 03, 2012 @ 17:45:17

    Don’t be nervous! This is great work!

  2. pinstripebindi
    Oct 03, 2012 @ 20:03:04

    Thanks. It’s not that I don’t think the photos are good, it’s more that I’m worried it won’t seem coherent enough. But it is what it is.

Leave a Reply

