July Lomographers of Acadiana meet-up: Old State Capitol (cross-processed slide film in the Yashica MG-1)

This was where me met for July’s meetup.

Hope likes to joke of one of her cameras that has an especially loud auto-advance that it’s her “spy camera”; I have a similar joke where I refer to my Yashica MG-1 as my “action camera”, because like all range-finders, the focus needs a lot of fiddling to get just right. (It’s also heavy enough to beat off rabid wolves.) I really like this camera though, especially for non-standard films–slide that’s going to be cross-processed, red scale, black and white. And there’s something about pressing the shutter button and advancing the film (you do that with a lever, not a dial) that I just really, really like. Like, it’s physically a pleasant sensation; I enjoy the noise it makes, too. I dunno, it’s hard to explain but that little ping! zzzip! that I both feel and hear fills me with such visceral joy.


683775-R1-24-25, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

683775-R1-16-17, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

683775-R1-12-13, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

683775-R1-13-14, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

Like me on Facebook!

Leave a Reply

