I got first world problems, but a reliable framer ain’t one

I delivered my photos for the exhibit on Saturday, which was convenient as I’d planned to be in New Orleans anyway, for the Lomographers of Acadiana meetup (at the Audubon Insectarium). The director was out of town and he couldn’t arrange for anyone to meet me at the gallery, so he had me leave them with his wife at their house, only about a mile from the gallery. They live literally across the street from one of those great old, crumbling New Orleans cemeteries, all moss-encrusted aboveground tombs. If I lived on that street, I would be in that cemetery more often than I was in my house. (I Googled the cross streets and it looks like it’s Lafayette Cemetery No. 1.)
I had some really frustrating drama getting the damn prints done on time. To start with, the notification was 4 days late, which left me with no margin of error. So I paid extra for expedited printing and second day air… and Adoramapix delivered a bent photo. OF COURSE THEY DID. I order from them all the time, and I’ve never had a problem, but the one order that’s crucial, THAT’S the one they fuck up. And it didn’t happen during the shipping, because Adoramapix sandwiches each individual print between 2 pieces of cardboard. Those weren’t bent, and neither was the other photo in the order.
So I called them the next morning and there was a lot of screaming and begging, and I’m pretty sure that a couple of employees made fun of me in the break room that day, but it got me a re-print overnighted to me the same day, so I don’t care. Express Frames in Lafayette did a wonderful, fast job as usual—they are consistently the only part of the process that doesn’t make me want to tear my hair out. They even tried dry-mounting the bent print, in case the other one didn’t arrive on time, and it did minimize but didn’t eliminate the crease.
Maybe this is normal for getting ready for an exhibit? Like everyone’s all laid back, disorganized artists, and I’m the only tightass wondering why no one has their shit together. Although I have to give it to Adoramapix: they fucked up, but they also made it right.
The ironic part, of course, is that thanks to Tropical Storm (soon to be Hurricane) Isaac, this may all be moot. The exhibit was supposed get hung this week and open on Saturday; if the city is recovering from a cat 2 landing on their head, I’m thinking the opening may be delayed.
Like me on Facebook!

Leave a Reply

