portfolio: round 4

This is my first time ordering large prints from medium format negatives; the square prints are both 10×10.

The one in the cemetery was taken with my Holga on a spring early afternoon, and it’s printed on Kodak Lustre. It’s a little roadside cemetery in the country near the larger Bancker cemetery where my grandfather is buried. As you can see in the photo, there are cow pastures behind and to one side of it. The Spanish moss is always particularly beautiful on that large tree in the center. I love the dreaminess of the photo (that great Holga softeness and corner vignetting), the little pops of bright color from the artificial flowers, and the cows in the background, which look so odd near the stark white tombstones.

The other photo was taken at the Washington Schoolhouse Antiques Mall with my Kodak Brownie Hawkeye with a flipped lens, and it’s printed on Kodak Metallic. (They’re always putting different stuff in that old sink.) This is the first time I’ve had anything done on metallic that had light, soft colors. I decided to go with metallic because the pinwheel was made of glittery plastic, and I wanted to reproduce that look, but I also like the way it looks with more subtle colors, too.

And the last photo was taken at the Audobon Aquarium of the Americas last summer in New Orleans, with my Lomo LC-A+. It’s an 8×10 and it’s printed on Kodak Lustre. (I don’t think I’ve had anything printed on matte, yet.) This is one of my favorite photos, I just think it’s so interesting to look at. Do you think the orange fish is leading the other fish, or being chased by them?

Like me on Facebook!

Leave a Reply

