New Orleans Photo Alliance: Odd Works 2

The last juried show of 2012 is titled Odd Works. Submissions must be limited to 5-10 photos; my comment to this was “Are you sure you only want 5-10? Because I have hundreds of weird photos”.

I use a lot of multi-lensed, plastic cameras which would be fair to classify as “toy” cameras. I sometimes get slide film processed in negative chemistry. I sometimes use redscale film–35mm rolled into the canister backwards, so you’re shooting through the wrong side of the emulsion. This gives photos a red/orange tone, hence the name.

I purposely didn’t include any of these photos in my last submission, because part of me is afraid they won’t be taken seriously. That judges and galleries would turn up their collective noses and sniff that it’s nor Art, with a capital A. So I’m seeing this submission as a chance to submit some work that I otherwise probably wouldn’t.

This is open to anyone, not just NOPA members, so the chances they’ll choose something of mine aren’t as high as they were for the Members Only exhibit. But that’s not a good reason not to try!


675748-R1-10-27 cropped, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

Normally I don’t submit photos of people, either. It’s not like I get their permission, and I just feel weird about exhibiting them or offering them for sale. However, if you’re marching in a Mardi Gras parade, I figure you know photos are gonna be taken, and you’re cool with it. I don’t know if this is really “odd”, but I like the grain (it was high speed film, so I wouldn’t have to use a flash), and the way the sequins on her outfit kind of flash out of the surrounding darkness.


9712neg0012, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

This was taken with a Brownie Hawkeye that had a “flipped” lens: I took it out and put it back in backwards. That’s why you get that center focus, with edges that get progressively more distorted. This model camera is very popular for that particular modification, because it’s very simple to perform.


672501-R1-17-18, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

This is an example of “cross processing”: slide film that’s been developed in color negative chemistry. I took this last November at the Hollywood Forever Cemetery in Los Angeles.


670067-R1-19-20A, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

I took this at the Alligator Festival last year. It’s also cross processed, but I think the subject matter is what really makes it odd. The way literally every person in the photo has classic WTF faces cracks me up. It’s going to take all my restraint not to title this something sarcastic, like “Support Your Local Sheriff”.

I took this at the aquarium in New Orleans last year, and it’s always been one of my favorites. It’s for sale in my Etsy shop, and it’s part of my portfolio. I love the colors and the way the big orange fish appears to be “leading” the little silver fish. But I especially enjoy the split aspect of above and below the water. I think it’s odd enough to qualify.


camera and books 2, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

This a “through the viewfinder” shot: you connect a digital camera with the viewfinder of an old TLR camera. I use a Pringles can and electrical tape, which looks damn silly but works. The TLR I use for TTV shots is my Kodak Duaflex, which I think has the best viewfinder: crystal clear, but with enough grit to make it interesting. (Probably not a coincidence that it’s my oldest TLR.) This was a long exposure lit only with a desk lamp, which is why it looks like the room was on fire.

I took this at the Kenny Hill Sculpture Garden in Chauvin. That whole place is weird, but I thought that this was the oddest photo, probably because it’s an isolated detail taken out of context.

I think this is my best example of tilt shift. The graves really look like toys; and because the out of focus part is just greenery, your mind kind of fills in the blanks and doesn’t really require it to be in focus.

It’s a chihuahua in a sweater. ‘Nuff said. This was also taken in California, I think it was just a few weeks before I moved.

Also taken back in Fremont. I walked past this house on my way to the bus stop, and this lawn never had even one flamingo until the morning I took this. This is why you should never leave home without a camera! I think it was some kind of prank; if so, I applaud the prankster. It’s both creative and kind-spirited–no toilet paper or rotten eggs to clean up.


armless jesus diana, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

This is one of the first Lomography shots I ever took: the second roll in my Diana F+, which was my first Lomo camera. (The first roll was taken at my sister’s wedding a couple months before, and so underexposed I never bothered to get any of them printed.) It’s creepy, right?

Okay, so if you’ve been keeping count, you know that there are 11 photos here, one over the limit. This is where I need your help. I narrowed it down thus far from an original selection of about 25, and I’m just totally stuck. Which one do y’all think I should eliminate, and why? And don’t be afraid of hurting my feelings!

Like me on Facebook!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Bill Chance
    Jul 24, 2012 @ 12:29:33

    Great work, love the tilt-shift… If I had to throw out one, probably the pinwheel.

    Good luck in the contest, thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

