first 3 portfolio prints

I got my first 3 portfolio prints from AdoramaPix today, which was a surprise as I wasn’t expecting them until next week. (It would be pretty pricey to get 20 large prints all at once, so I’m going to do 2 or 3 every couple of weeks or so.)

The 2 largest are 11×14 prints, they’re both on Kodak Supra Endura Lustre. This is my first experience with Lustre, and I’m really impressed. I’ve never liked high gloss paper, it just looks cheap and plasticy to me. But matte isn’t appropriate for everything, and metallic should really be used sparingly. This is a really good balance between matte and high gloss, and it looks classy as fuck. These photos were both taken with my wide angle Pink Slim Dress camera on Fuji Superia 35mm. The cemetery is Delino Cemetery in Henry (Delino was my grandmother’s maiden name), near where my grandparent’s house used to be; it was taken in early spring, early afternoon. The house is San Francisco Plantation in Garyville, LA; it was taken the week after Christmas, late afternoon.

The smaller print is on Kodak Metallic, the same paper I got my exhibit print done on. The colors are so bright that I thought, why not just go balls-out. It’s an azalea tree on my grandparent’s property; it was taken in early spring, mid-afternoon. The colors have not been tweaked, that’s really what the tree looks like. (It’s even brighter when you’re looking at the actual print, and not a crappy cell phone pic.) I used the 35mm converter back on my Diana F+ to take this. Photos taken with the converter never seem to come out quite in focus, but it makes up for that by giving everything that’s in direct sunlight a weird glow. I decided to get a smaller print for this, 5×7, because blown up any larger I think it would just be a grainy, hot pink mess.

These prints are all for sale in my Etsy shop, and I may run a special on them next week. BTW, I started a Facebook page for my photography, it would be tons of help if you could “like” me.

Leave a Reply

