20 portfolio photos

So after I got something chosen for an exhibit, I’m thinking the next step should be assembling a portfolio. Well actually, that should have been the FIRST step, but I’m new at thinking of photography as anything other than a hobby, so I’m learning as I go. I read a few tutorials about them, this site was especially helpful. He pointed out that there should be a unifying theme to a portfolio, not just “20 photos that I think are pretty good”: all landscapes, or all black and white, or all portraits. So mine is going to be all photos I’ve taken in Louisiana that I feel encapsulates the intent I came up with for my artist’s bio, that shows the dreaminess I feel when I look at the state through a camera lens.


granny’s property 2, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

670068-R1-05-3, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

674633-R1-05-19, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

cow cemetery 21, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

9712neg0012, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

3334neg0012, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

674633-R1-15-5A, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

Elpege Picou Cemetery 7, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

under construction, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

679884-R1-04-20A, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

679883-R1-12-12A, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

armless jesus diana, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

20 is all I’m going to do, when you’re showing a portfolio you don’t want to overwhelm the person looking at it with dozens of photos. I’m not going to have them printed on all the same kind of paper; some seem suited for high gloss, some for matte, some for metallic. Then I’m going to have them all matted with white 2″ mats. It’s best to have a portfolio matted when you show it, because if it gets accepted by the gallery (or whoever), all they have to do is frame them.

Leave a Reply

