Mardi Gras: Lomo LC-A+, Fuji Natura 1600

Thursday I only worked until noon, then I drove to New Orleans, checked into my hotel, and walked down St. Charles Street until I found a good spot. I had originally planned to be at St. Charles and Louisiana, but the fact that the streetcar route was closed for the parade put the kibosh on that. Which worked out to my advantage, because I learned that away from major intersections, the crowds are a lot thinner and the NOPD doesn’t bother to put up crowd barriers. You can walk right up the floats and Muses will drop the beads and other goodies right into your hands. As I was walking home, a very drunk, very gay man demanded to know what the FUCK I did to get all those beads. I started to explain, then just shrugged and said “I just kept shoving people out of my way” instead. This earned me a “YYYEEEEEAAAAAHHH!!!” and a high five.

Please do not ask me if I flashed. No one does that at the St. Charles street parades, which are family events that people bring their kids to. For fuck’s sake, there are high school marching bands in those parades. It’s not Bourbon Street, okay?

 


675748-R1-12-25, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

 


675748-R1-10-27, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

 


675748-R1-07-30, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

 


675748-R1-06-31, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

 


675748-R1-02-35, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

 


675748-R1-01-36, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.
1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. nolaguerita
    Feb 26, 2012 @ 13:05:24

    Stumbled across your page doing a Google image search for Huffy Cranbrook Cruiser (because I’m gettin one today and I’m soooooooo filled with delight), and I got a lovely surprise of super cool pictures and witty wordsmithin. Bonus that they’re pictures of the city I am proud to call home. Thanks for sprinkling my already fun Sunday with more NOLA love. (Ya like that Sunday pun? It was unintentional. Thanks, genetics!) You rock. Keep it up.

Leave a Reply

