don’t tintype me, bro!


tintype, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

I have no idea why I keep getting blog titles from that old meme.

Anyway, yesterday Hope and I met for brunch at Satsuma Café (which was really good and like a funky little café you’d see in Berkeley), knocked around Bywater/Marigny for an hour, then went to an exhibit of tintypes at Home Space Gallery. There was a demo by this guy where we got to see one made too, and that was really interesting. It’s not something I would ever try to get into myself though, because some wicked scary chemicals go into the process: nitric acid, ether, CYANIDE.

He did portraits, and I thought it would be fun to sit for one. I really like the way it came out, and he took a digital photo of it for his portfolio so I guess it’s a good one. He uses all 19th century equipment and processing, and he tints the cheeks just like they did back then. He put a little gold paint on my necklace, too.

The funny thing is that I stayed in bed too long to style my hair, and just let it dry in the car on the drive, but I like the way it looks in the photo.

Leave a Reply

