right back where i started from

I’m flying to Los Angeles tomorrow for a few days to visit my sister. I’m really excited to be back in California again for a while, even if it’s Los Angeles and not the Bay Area.

The main point of the trip is to see The Cure at the Pantages Theater–Jamie’s office is basically above it. However, there are a few other things I want to do, namely: see the Pacific Ocean, go to the Lomography Gallery Store, and eat at In-N-Out Burger. I’d also like to eat somewhere I can get calamari, which seems to be an unknown in Louisiana. You can get all kinds of good ethnic food here, but I sorely miss non-Cajun seafood. I haven’t had a bowl of clam chowder since I left California.

Jamie texted me last night asking if I was scared of helicopters, so she clearly has other plans as well.

As to the all-important question of which cameras to bring: I haven’t shot 120 in a while and I have several rolls just gathering dust, so I think definitely the Diana F+. For 35mm, either the Holga 135 or the Lomo LC-A+. I don’t want to mess with a bunch of knobs and dials if I’m street-shooting, so no range finders. The Land Camera is really heavy and initially I was thinking I wasn’t going to bring it. But you know, I didn’t buy it just to have it sit around the house and occasionally shoot a photo in the backyard. So I think I’ll bring it, too.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. victoria evans
    Nov 25, 2011 @ 02:13:00

    Take the Pinkdress!!

  2. pinstripebindi
    Nov 25, 2011 @ 07:46:49

    I came back from California on Tuesday… your comment is a little too late.

  3. victoria evans
    Nov 26, 2011 @ 01:07:25

    bollocks…..

Leave a Reply

