TtV photography

One of my Meetup pals is into TtV–“Through the Viewfinder”–photography, which is something I have been idly pondering for a while. A couple weeks ago I got a Pringles craving, so I made sure to save the can when I was done, and did a little experimentation yesterday afternoon in the yard.

 


TTV setup, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

First, a look at my elegant setup. Picture my digital camera taped to the other end. I am a class act. I have a few TLR cameras, but I like the viewfinder of my Kodak Duaflex (my first ever vintage camera) best. It’s simultaneously the most dusty and scratched up; and the most brilliant.

In my defense, the Pringles can is quite a common hack for TtV photography.

 


TTV tree trunk and plant, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

The resolution is pretty good, and all the dust and stuff shows up nicely, but I wasn’t prepared for how overexposed they came out. This is was edited with the exposure turned literally all the way down. I probably should have turned the contrast down, too.

 


TTV tree from the porch 2, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

It’s pretty much impossible to tell what I’ve photographed until I get it uploaded.

 


TTV 062611 13, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

I’m also losing some resolution because of how little an area the viewfinder actually takes up and how much it has to be cropped and enlarged.

Still, I had a lot of fun experimenting and will be trying more. In my research I don’t think I’ve heard people bitching about overexposure a lot, so there’s got to be some easy solution to it that I’m just not getting, probably because I don’t use a digital camera much these days! I’ll look into it.

Leave a Reply

