disposable distortion: world’s smallest church

A couple weeks ago there was a Photojojo article on 20 alternative uses for a disposable camera making the rounds of the internets. One of the suggestions was to damage or distort the lens (or the film ) and see what results, and I thought that was a really interesting idea (in fact I wondered why I hadn’t thought of it myself).

So I took one along on my last meetup and slapped some tape over the lens. It made them come out really dreamy and even added some vignetting.

Next time I’m going to try some clear nail polish on the lens. I’d really like to try flipping the lens, but so far I haven’t come across a model where the lens can be removed. I hear they exist, though.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. victoria evans
    Apr 06, 2011 @ 23:07:05

    Loving the effect!! awesome. Where’s your Etsy shop? hey, if you were going to recommend one old film camera – what would it be?

  2. pinstripebindi
    Apr 07, 2011 @ 04:37:46

    Eh, still working on it. I don’t have a lot of computer time these days because work expects me to actually, you know, work. And I’m sort of overwhelmed by what to offer–I can’t just put all my photos up because of the way Etsy works, it charges you a certain amount for each item you have in your shop. And then I’d have to migrate them over to Adorama’s photo site for prints, because Flickr’s service (Snapfish) sucks sweaty balls and doesn’t even offer a square format as an option.

    I would recommend the Brownie Hawkeye, I guess. The bakelite construction has assured a great many of them are still kicking around in working condition, and the lens is really easy to flip. You’d have to re-spool 120 onto 620 spools (you can get them on eBay). The Kodak Duaflex is also a good one.

  3. victoria evans
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 14:14:52

    Thanks for the film camera advice! I’ve seen you talk about the Brownie Hawkeye before. I’ve never re-spooled film but guess I can give it a go.
    Yeah, sucks about work actually wanting people to work 🙂 I know you’ll get the Etsy thing going eventually and I look forward to it!

  4. pinstripebindi
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 15:40:58

    It’s really not that hard. You might want to sacrifice a roll of 120 and practice in the open before you try doing it in the dark. You can get a good changing bag for about $10. And there are lots of online tutorials.

Leave a Reply

