3rd time’s the charm

My third Lomographers of Acadiana meetup was groovy. Hope, the girl who joined immediately after I formed the group, came and she brought her girlfriend. She shoots a Diana F+ and she has all the different lenses; she can use them on her digital, too. Another girl joined a couple weeks ago, but she lives in Denham Springs and I don’t know how many meetups she’ll make. I hope some of them, because she’s a Polaroid enthusiast like me.

I picked a location in Iberville Parish, which wasn’t as far as Hope to drive, she lives in Baton Rouge. I don’t even know how I heard about Bayou Goula, I think I was trying to find out if there any ghost towns in Louisiana. It was mentioned as such on a couple old Geoshitties-esque websites, but really it’s just a couple of old foundations in an otherwise lively community. It’s really small and rural, of course.

We went to an old cemetery and the world’s smallest church (although there are like 20 churches in the world vying for that title). It was built in 1903 and looks like a tool shed with a steeple. It’s 8′ x 8′ and basically you walk in and boom, there’s the altar. There’s no pews. They only hold mass there one day a year; the rest of the time they leave the key in the mailbox for anyone who wants to use it, which I find charmingly trusting.

I don’t have any photos yet (except the Holgaroids I shot), because I stupidly took the film to Rite Aid, only to find out once I’d dropped it off that they don’t develop in house and I have to wait at least a week. Hmrph. But yesterday was so beautiful, and watching Hope use her Diana F+ made me realize I hadn’t used mine in months, so I slapped the 35mm back on mine and shot a roll around Henry and Bancker, and a few in Magdalene Square.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. victoria evans
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 02:05:46

    TOTALLY AWESOME!

Leave a Reply

