be my fucking friend, damn it!

So it occurred to me last week that maybe I should look for Meetup groups in Baton Rouge, which is a lot closer than New Orleans (a little over an hour’s drive as opposed to 2 1/2). And I found a couple to join: a happy hour/brunch one (and it’s hosted by a black woman, which eases any sadly warranted trepidation I feel re: large gatherings of white people in this state, ie. that there’s always going to be at least one racist teatard fuckball who insists on bloviating about secession and Obama being a seekrit moozlim turrist, because they assume all white people feel the same), and one for people who do crafts to get together and… craft.

I kept wishing there was a local Lomography group (fat chance, there’s only like a dozen worldwide), because sometimes I feel really weird about just wandering around on my own with a camera. Then I realized: duh, why don’t I just form one myself? So that’s what I did. I paid for 6 months, and I figured probably at the end of that time no one would have joined and I’d just shut it down. Then someone joined the next day. She said her girlfriend gave her a Diana for Christmas, which, unless she’s using a charmingly old-school term for “platonic friend of the same gender”, means she’s gay. Which — and I apologize to any of my gay friends who feel like I’m exoticizing y’all or anything (remember: I am from the Bay Area and gay people are about as exotic as Golden Retrievers to me) — but it means we probably have a baseline similarity in social values to start from. I mean, I hear tell of the elusive Conservative Homosexual, but I have yet to actually meet one.

She lives in Livingston Parish, which is just east of Baton Rouge and kind of far, and she hasn’t RSVP’d to our inaugural meetup. Which I decided to have in St. Martinville, as it’s “the birthplace of Cajun culture”. So it’s entirely possible the meetup will consist of me having a cup of coffee all by myself. Still, the place allegedly serves great beignets, St. Martinville is a beautiful town I’ve been meaning to re-visit, it’s supposed to be sunny and I have a brand new camera (late Christmas present from my parents). So I don’t think the day will be a total waste of time, whatever the results.

Hey, at least I’m trying. I’m not gonna just hole up in my room and wish I could meet some people I don’t violently disagree with.

On a related note, I’ve discovered there is a no-kill cat and dog shelter in Carencro, a satellite community of Lafayette. I’m going to call next week and see about volunteering once a week after work. I miss being around animals. Animals don’t care that the president’s black or ask you what you thought of last night’s O’Reilly Factor.

Leave a Reply

