mushroom & gruyère tarts

(This isn’t my photo, because the one I took was blurry. I am so much better with film than digital.)

I found this recipe in the January issue of Real Simple. I love that magazine. Mushrooms are a “superfood” everyone should eat more of, especially women: they may regulate estrogen levels and help prevent breast cancer. I used baby bellas, which I like in a meatless meal because they are particularly hearty and filling. I doubled the recipe, because why the hell not and there are 2 sheets of puff pastry per box anyway.

Trader Joe’s used to have this UH-MAZING frozen savory tart: ham, gruyère, and caramelized onions. I used to buy one nearly every Friday night and have half of it with a salad for dinner and the other half for lunch on either Saturday or Sunday. I may try to recreate it with puff pastry.

Leave a Reply

