what happens when a happy hippo meets a hungry, hungry hippo?

Today was the first day in nearly 5 months where, when I left the building at noon to move my car so I wasn’t blocking anyone in, I didn’t want to drop dead from the heat and humidity. It was actually… pleasant. And when I left the house this morning it was… chilly. AND! I only used my a/c at about 1/2 power on the way to work. *GASP*

We may have another hot flash before it leaves town for good, but summer’s ugly grasping claws finally seem to be loosening its deathgrip.

I made supper (we eat breakfast, dinner, and supper in Louisiana) for my grandmother last night* and didn’t feel like planning a bento on top of that, and Rouses was having a 2 for $5 sale on those Stouffer’s frozen subs, so I just bought a bunch of them for my lunches this week. But I also have a Happy Hippo milk & cocoa creme biscuit. I bought a box at World Market a while back. THEY ARE AWESOME AND YOU ARE JELLUS

*I made my famous maple-mustard chicken, the recipe of which I’ve never posted because I always, ALWAYS forget to take a photo of it. I forgot last night too, so fuck it, here’s the recipe:

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
Put 1.5-2 lbs. boneless chicken thighs in a single layer in a glass oven-proof casserole dish, season with salt & pepper to taste.
Mix 1/2 cup Dijon mustard, 1/4 cup pure maple syrup (ACTUAL maple syrup, not sugary fake crap like Log Cabin), and 1 tbsp. unseasoned rice vinegar. Pour over chicken, turning pieces once to thoroughly coat, and cook for 20-25 minutes.
A good trick, which I almost always forget, is to line the dish with aluminum foil so you don’t spend the next week scraping burnt maple sugar off the casserole dish.
From the I ❤ Trader Joe’s Cookbook

I also made my cheddar garlic biscuits, even though Mom says Granny “isn’t a bread person”, but I think she liked them. Mom said Grandpa would have loved them; “But he thought anything you did was ***~~WONDERFUL~~***.” I miss Grandpa. Everyone should have one person who thinks everything they do is ***~~WONDERFUL~~***.

A show I forgot to mention in my quick capsule review of the 2010-2011 teevee season is AMC’s Rubicon. It’s sort of like Three Days of the Condor, if that movie moved at a glacial pace. And that’s not a bad thing, the slow pace really makes you sit up and think about what you’re seeing; as opposed to 24-style *car bombs* *people getting tortured* *hero yelling all manly WE HAVE TO FIND THE BOMB!!!* that totally numbs your brain after half an episode.

I am also looking forward to AMC’s The Walking Dead, which premieres on Halloween. Zombies + Lennie James + the director of Shawshank Redemption (okay so he also directed The Green Mile, I DON’T CARE LIFETIME PASS FOR SR Y’ALL) = me, glued to the TV.

Also, this season of Hoarders has been an absolutely horrifying trainwreck, if the train was filled with cat poo and collided with a mountain of garbage bags filled with human poo.

Leave a Reply

