cosmetics review: harajuku lovers fragrance (love & G)

Can I just preface this review by stating: I am a 35-year-old woman.

My step-father has been wearing the same Caswell-Massey cologne since about the time Gary Hart’s presidential run was sunk, but apparently they changed the formula and he and Mom have been searching for a new scent for him. He bought Armani Code the other day, which my brother (who is something of a cologne buff) declares is for guys in their early 20s and completely innapropriate.

ANYWAY. David and Mom were yapping about cologne and perfume for like hours on end yesterday, and it made me realize that I haven’t worn any perfume since I used up the last of my most recently purchased bottle of Michael by Michael Kors. It’s been my signature scent for years, but I kind of feel ready for a change, which is probably why I didn’t run out and buy another bottle. Plus, as David pointed out, this climate, especially in the summer, really requires a lighter scent. Michael is mostly tuberose and as such is quite heavy for a floral.

I have to admit, it was the adorable bottles that made me notice Harajuku Lovers, the line of fragrances from Gwen Stefani. Normally I wouldn’t give celebrity perfumes a second look, but there was a tester of G, so I gave it a sniff, and actually… it’s quite good!

It’s the category of fragrance known as “gourmand”, because it’s not clearly Oriental or Citrus/Fruity or Floral, but a bit of each. It’s a little woodsy; but there’s also jasmine, magnolia, coconut, and although it doesn’t list it on any of the packaging, I swear I can smell apple. Which sounds like it should make for one hot mess of a fragrance, but actually it all comes together really delightfully.

They’re pretty small bottles, just 1 oz. so I also got Love, which is a more standard light floral, but also has some really clean, refreshing aquatic notes. I think I also want to eventually get Music (citrus, honeysuckle, vanilla) and Lil Angel (rasberry, amber, hinoki woods), which sound like they’re also some pretty exotic combos. Maybe even Baby; although the top note is musk, which normally I don’t like at all, it also has bergamot in it.

The only thing I don’t love is that they’re eau de toilette, not parfum, which means the scent probably won’t make it to lunch time. However, maybe that’s for the best, because I work with 15 other women and if we all wore strong perfume, the office would smell like a bordello.

ETA: I’ve since bought and tried Lil Angel, and I don’t much care for it. Initially it smells good; but within the first hour everything but the rasberry disappears, and you’re left with a cloyingly sweet fruity reek that smells like something you’d buy at CVS for 99 cents.

Still, G and Love are both great scents, and last longer than I would have thought. I still want to try Music, but it’s proving difficult to locate. I’ll probably have to get it online.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Tingatipto
    Jul 20, 2010 @ 00:37:59

    My favorite is Dior Pure Poison. I live in an extremely hot climate. This is pretty much the only one that doesn’t give me a headache.

    If this is the comment you were referring to in your other comment, I didn’t delete it. For some reason Akismet dumped it in the spam folder, where I found it. It happens sometimes. ~S.

    p.s. I like Poison, but anything with honey and spices in it is strictly a cold weather perfume, IMO.

Leave a Reply

