make-up review: cover girl’s smoky shadow blast (tempest blue)

Quick capsule review: Don’t waste your money. Especially if you live in a humid climate.

I’d been looking for blue eyeshadow and not having much luck; everything is either too dark or too matte. Then I saw this new product, and the blue one (second from right) looked like just the shades/amount of frost I was looking for.

Too bad it went on spotty (when you try to add a second coat, the stick just rubs off the first one) and creased before lunch. Not only that, it smears whatever you put over it. So if you wear a black or brown eyeliner over it, or put it along your bottom lashline and then apply mascara on your bottom lashes, you’re going to wind up with raccoon eyes. It’s like applying eye make-up to a base of petroleum jelly.

The problems I had with it were probably compounded by the high humidity environment I live in; but I’m willing to bet it would still crease and smudge in a drier climate, and I know it would still apply badly.

It’s too bad, because the last make-up item I reviewed, Outlast Lip Stain, was also Cover Girl, and I loved it. However, I don’t think the problem is with Cover Girl so much as with the basic formula of cream eyeshadow. Seriously, why does this stuff even exist? And when am I going to stop thinking I bet this cream eyeshadow will work, unlike every other cream eyeshadow I’ve tried since 1985?

However, there’s hope: While I was buying hemorrhoid cream after work today — IT’S FOR UNDER MY EYES SHUT UP — I found Maybelline Eye Studio in Spirited Seas. It looks like the shades of blue I want, and I like that they put them with browns, because that’s actually how I wear blue eyeshadow. We’re not talking the undifferentiated wall of medium blue circa 9th grade, here. Plus, I already have this product in Give Me Gold, so I know it’s really shimmery yet surprisingly long-lasting.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. victoria evans
    Jun 27, 2010 @ 22:45:29

    I’m all for “layering” – I often wear a brown shadow (Revlon Hazelnut is an oldie but goodie) with a lavender shade over it – comes out an interesting blueish colour.
    Because I have blue eyes, I also love Mac’s Tin Tin eyeliner pencil. Slap it around rim of eyes, top and bottom, and you’ve got the blue look happening without being circa 1960s. Mac’s a little expensive but the pencil lasts for ages.

  2. Amanda
    Sep 13, 2010 @ 05:55:46

    I recently bought the product and as soon as I opened it the product broke. I’ve tried the other Shadow blast colors and the same thing happened.

  3. Chelsea
    Dec 11, 2011 @ 16:34:34

    This made me seriously wanna cry…lol, jk
    Drew Barrymore looked so gorgoeus in the commercial, and it was on tv almost ten times an hour since the product came out over a year ago…OMG CRAPPIEST MU EVER! seriously go to the dollar store and buy yourself kids body glitter and you’ll have something better then this. I used it with powdered shadow over top and it still creased. really hate this. Covergirl should apolagize for tricking people by formulating a petroleum based product for the eyes, and making us think it was all we needed to use

Leave a Reply

