cimetière des vaches

I haven’t used my Holga in months and had nearly forgotten that it takes insanely beautiful photos. These have not been edited at all. One of the rolls (#1-#12) was shot on the bulb setting, so they’re more softly focused than usual. I’m pretty sure both rolls were Kodak Portra 400VC.

This is a tiny cemetery I found when looking for Bancker Cemetery, where my grandfather is buried. It’s almost certainly a private cemetery used only by one, maybe two, families. There are a lot of those around here; there’s one in Henry where a bunch of my great-grandfather’s brothers are buried, along with members of the Henry family.

I call it “Cow Cemetery” (in French, because why not) for obvious reasons.

See the entire set.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. victoria evans
    Jun 07, 2010 @ 22:34:31

    Truly stunning. I love exploring old cemeteries. #1 is my fav – perfectly captures the ambiance of the cemetery and the cows in the background add a really touching feature.

    The possible “upsetting topic” (as some people cringe at the mere mention of a cemetery) is softened by the bulb setting. I must try my Holga on the bulb setting.

    Kodak Portra 400VC is one of my favourite films to use, along with Fuji Provia 400F

  2. pinstripebindi
    Jun 08, 2010 @ 03:19:03

    These are not people who should ever live in rural Louisiana, because there’s a cemetery every 100 yards or so.

    I’m trying to be better about noting which kinds of film I use, because I’ve been in the bad habit of just bunging whatever I have into the camera. And of course the film you use is at least as important as the camera.

Leave a Reply

