speaking of cameras…

Look what came in the mail today!

It’s so tiny! 620 cameras usually were, which is why you can’t just bung a roll of 120 into them, even though it’s technically the same film. Even if you can get the camera closed, it will jam when you try to advance the film.

I am amost positive this camera was never used. Other than a small patch of rust on the bottom clip, she doesn’t have a single scratch or blemish on her.

The box it originally came in, proof that this was someone’s free gift for buying a Mercury Comet. The sender is “Mercury Comet Gift Headquarters”. Apparently, they used to make cars in Detroit. (That was sarcasm.)

And I received my Herco Imperial the same day! The seller shipped it Priority Mail the same day I paid (which was right after I won the auction), and he’s only over in Georgia. This one has a few light scratches on the metal faceplate, but I can live with that. (And I already knew about them, it’s not like the seller tried to hide them.)

Both of these cameras are in great working condition. The film advance knobs turn easily and smoothly, and the shutters trip crisply when you press the buttons. They both have take-up spools in them too, and it’s always helpful to have extra spools.

Now, if only it would stop raining long enough for me to use them!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. victoria evans
    May 28, 2010 @ 17:03:15

    That mint-green Savoy box camera is the cutest thing I’ve seen in ages. Possibly rivals the cuteness of the Pink Dress.

    I am now scouring eBay for one. But looks like it will be hard to find one in such pristine condition as you did, let alone in its original box.

    Can’t wait to see photos. And the Herco Imperial – awesome!

  2. pinstripebindi
    May 28, 2010 @ 17:48:45

    You just gotta be persistent! Although you might not find one that’s NEVER been used, I bet you can find one that’s still in great condition. You’ll probably pay less than me, too — I totally admit I overpaid, but the pristine condition + not having to wait out an auction made it worth the $$$ for me.

    p.s. Just be sure to ask the seller, if it doesn’t state in the description, if it’s in working condition. Sometimes people do sell bust-o cameras as “display pieces”.

  3. Dick
    Apr 08, 2012 @ 17:28:46

    620 and 120 are the same, however, the spool size is different. The 620 spools were skinnier and usually metal. If you have a completely dark room and a 620 spool, you can open a roll of 120 and respool it onto the 620. Can be tricky, but can be learned.

  4. pinstripebindi
    Apr 08, 2012 @ 17:55:58

    Yeah, I’m aware of that, thanks. I use a changing bag for it.

Leave a Reply

