now that i’ve (temporarily) sated my lust for box cameras, i’m moving on to polaroids

I’ve been thinking of getting a Polaroid ever since The Impossible Project launched. They have some mind-blowingly amazing tinted films, like Silver Shade, Blue, and Chocolate.

Blue

Silver Shade

Chocolate

I know a lot of people have been comlaining about the price of film from TIP, and it definitely isn’t cheap, but I think they’re missing the point. This isn’t film you take to the company picnic so you have something to put on the breakroom bulletin board. You have to think of these photos as one-of-a-kind, very small pieces of art. Thought of like that, $1 or $2 a photo is cheap. My main beef with TIP is they run out of stock a lot. I guess they weren’t anticipating the popularity of the film!

However, I think the first Polaroid I’m going to get is a mid-’70s Super Shooter. There are still a few floating around. The main problem seems to be with previous owners having left the batteries in the camera, resulting in massive corrosion. But if you look hard enough you can find some non-corroded ones on eBay or Etsy.

It uses the old Type 80 peel-apart film, which TIP does sell (in chocolate). But the neat part is that it can also shoot Fuji Type 100, which is still being produced. I didn’t think anyone was still making peel-apart instant film, but apparently it still gets used for things like passport photos pretty often.

Eventually I’m also going to get a type 100 Polaroid (probably a Polaroid One), so I can shoot all that gorgeous tinted film. TIP sells cameras, but they are horrendously overpriced. I would also like to have a Holgaroid back, but I might ask for that for Christmas.

Not immediately, however. I’ve been going a little too wacko with the cameras lately. Not having to pay rent every month kind of went to my head. I have a job interview on Friday, though!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. victoria evans
    May 27, 2010 @ 15:42:38

    wish I was in the States!! you seem to get access to sites or stores that have the film you need or have great garage sales where you can pick up old cameras (with old film in it too bonus).

    I’d love to get a Polaroid but I doubt anyone here (NZ) would have any film for one!

    Good luck for your interview.

  2. pinstripebindi
    May 27, 2010 @ 17:43:49

    You can get stuff on eBay or Etsy in New Zealand though, right? I mean you’d probably have to pay international shipping, but it’s not like you couldn’t shop those sites at all. And I know TIP ships all over because when you go to their site you first have to enter your location.

Leave a Reply

