ham & swiss pie

Borrowing a photo off the internet again, I keep forgetting to bring my camera to the kitchen.

Mom and Phil are leaving for Kentucky next Saturday to visit Phil’s sisters for a few days. (Also I think they want some time alone, which I do not begrudge them.) Mom really wants to get the dining room painted before they leave, so I have once again assumed most of the kitchen duties. I’d rather cook than paint, so that’s fine with me.

She did make a ham on Monday night. Ham is one of those things that I’ll eat, but without much gusto. Even gussied up with fancy glazes (which this one did not sport), it’s still pretty much the most boring meat in the world.

However, you get to make Betty Crocker’s ham & swiss pie with the leftovers the following night. I like making dishes like this; in my mind I pretend it’s the 1970s and I need a quick dinner to make because later we’re all going to an ABBA concert. Or something.

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees, grease a pie plate.
  • Mix 1 1/2 cups chopped cooked ham, 1 cup grated Swiss cheese, and 4 thinly sliced green onions; put in bottom of pie plate.
  • Whisk together 1/2 cup Bisquick, 1 cup milk, 2 eggs, 1/2 tsp. salt and 1/4 tsp. pepper; pour over ham mixture.
  • Bake for 35-40 minutes, let rest 5 minutes before cutting and serving.

Makes a good light supper with a bagged Caesar salad kit, the greatest invention of the decade. Also a good lunch; hell, why not eat it for breakfast. It’s got eggs in it. It’s good cold, too.

Leave a Reply

