chicken makhani (sometimes called butter chicken)

One of the things I miss about the Bay Area: Indian food. So I decided to make my own. The recipes always look kind of daunting, because they have mile-long lists of ingredients. But provided you can get your hands on all the spices, it’s not actually that difficult. There’s just a lot of measuring.

I made a lamb curry a couple weeks ago that had a great flavor, but the sauce was too thin for my liking. If I make it again I’ll definitely add a thickening agent. This was more successful, probably because I substituted the cup of half & half the recipe called for for a 1/4 cup of heavy cream. What self-respecting Indian person uses half & half? That was definitely a white folk version.

click here for recipe

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cha0tic
    May 16, 2010 @ 05:12:20

    Personally I wouldn’t add cornflour, just leave it on low for a while to cook down. Long slow cooking never hurt anything 🙂

  2. pinstripebindi
    May 16, 2010 @ 09:59:18

    I didn’t have to add cornstarch (I assume that’s what you meant), but if it needed thickening I probably would. Long cooking times, even low ones, aren’t going to do chicken any favors. Plus if you’re ready to eat and your side dishes are already done and getting cold, who wants to wait?

Leave a Reply

