superheadz pink slim dress camera

Toy camera addiction is a serious disease that deserves compassion, not anger and ridicule!

YES, I bought another camera. Someone brought it up in the comments of my last camera-related entry; I’d never even heard about it before. The Pink Slim Dress (and all the clones that have different colors and names) is Superheadz’s answer to the sadly defunct Vivitar Ultra Wide & Slim. The Pink Slim Dress faithfully reproduces the Viv’s 22mm lens, wonky colors, and occasional vignetting. I was a little taken aback when I saw that it had no flash or hotshoe, but then realized that duh, of course it doesn’t: because it photographs such a wide area, no flash could ever light up the whole scene. So this is basically a sunny day/outdoors camera only, unless you’re packing a super-fast film in it. And I prefer to stay around 400ISO in my 35mm cameras; I don’t like the grain that comes with faster films.

And I love my other Superheadz cameras. One of my favorite things about them is their sturdiness. Some Lomo cameras, you’re afraid to breathe on them too hard, and a lot of them have serious design defiencies — not the cool ones that we actually want, but truly shitty ones, like the rickety clips that hold the back of the Holga on and constantly threaten to give way and expose your film. I always insure it with generous swatches of electrical tape on both sides. One of the reason I went with the Golden Half over the Diana Mini is that I read some horror stories about pieces breaking off the camera within one roll’s worth of use.

I had actually been thinking that I needed a wide angle camera for all the flat, wide-open spaces out here, so this isn’t completely out of left field. And I’ll give you that buying three cameras in the space of 2 weeks is a little insane, even for me. But it was only $29.99, the Blackbird Fly was nearly a 1/3 off the usual retail price, and I would have been nuts to pass up that complete Brownie Hawyeye gift set at that price. We’re only talking about $150, all told. Still $100 less than a new Lomo LC-A+ would set me back.

Still, no more cameras until after I get a job and get my first paycheck. My first REAL paycheck; as opposed to the dinky first paycheck that you always get when you start a new job, that’s only got like 2 days of work on it because you have to wait for the pay period lag to catch you up.

Also, Phil gave me his old digital camera because he wasn’t hardly using it anymore. It’s pretty old and it was a challenge to learn how to use it, but it’s also got a higher megapixel than my old digital — which is now doing this weird thing where it constantly shuts off after a few seconds (even with brand new batteries), making it nearly impossible to use. I still really ❤ film and my toys cameras, but a digital is always good to have as back-up, in case something goes wrong with film.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. victoria evans
    Apr 26, 2010 @ 03:51:02

    I think it was me who mentioned the Pink Dress – I LOVE that camera. Fantastic that you bought it (neither one of us need yet ANOTHER camera, but who gives a toss!!). Can’t wait to see the shots off your first roll.

  2. erin
    Nov 16, 2010 @ 11:01:05

    hi, i googled about this camera and i came across your blog(: i have the same camera and developed about 3 rolls of film and it all turned out to be underexposed. This camera cant be used indoors is it?

  3. pinstripebindi
    Nov 16, 2010 @ 11:40:38

    Well, there’s no flash, so unless you had a TON of lighting (like, floodlights everywhere), or super-fast film, it would be underexposed. Try it outdoors; the wide lens is just begging for landscapes.

Leave a Reply

