also, please note: it’s moleskine, not “moleskin”. it’s not made from the skin of moles.

It’s been a while since I bought a Moleskine. I admit, they are kind of overpriced, which is why I’ve been using cheaper alternatives. But I just love that paper, the way it feels and the way it takes the ink of my fountain pens. (The Notebooks, not the Cahier Journals. Those things have lousy thin paper that ink bleeds right through.) And I love the sewn spines that lay open without having to be held down that way.

I decided to try something a little different and get a Japanese Album this time. Remember my old scrapbook diary? I haven’t posted any photos of it in a while, because I’ve been integrating it with my regular text journals. I’ve also been taking a lot of instant photos with my Fuji Instax of things I want to write about, and including them with the text entry. The Japanese Album seems like a good medium for this, and it probably won’t bulge as much as regular journals do, once they have all that stuff inserted into them.

While I was on the Moleskine website, I saw they have something new called Passions Journals. I love their specialty notebooks, especially the City Notebooks. I’m so glad I kept one for San Francisco (it’s pretty full, too), because now that I’ve left the Bay Area it’s like a keepsake album. I wish they would make one for New Orleans, but a couple years ago I hacked my own out of a regular Moleskine Pocket Notebook, and I think I did a pretty good job.

So anyway, I decided to get the Passions Book Journal. It’s always helpful to keep info on books, especially now that I’m going to be making an effort to use the library and not spend so much $$$ on books. (Also, truthfully, they are a BITCH to move. I narrowed it down to 5 boxes, and I’d really like to keep it that way.) Since I can no longer just pull an old book off the shelf whenever I need to refresh my memory, this Notebook should come in handy!

Leave a Reply

