if we didn’t think it was “worth it”, we wouldn’t be here

You know what I don’t get? Shit like this. Why? Why would you enter a group specifically for fans of a certain thing and basically go “Yeah hi, you’re all morons and this is bullshit.”? WHY WOULD YOU DO THAT

Look, there are things that I think are bullshit and I frequently say so on my own blog, where no one is forcing fans of that thing to be. But I would never go onto, say, a Twilight fan website and tell all the Twitards how stupid they are. It’s their own space, they aren’t hurting anyone, let them have their dumb obsession.

Besides which, this person doesn’t really seem to understand why a lot of people like the Fuji Instax and other instant cameras. It’s not about the instantaneousness at this point, and I would have thought that was pretty obvious. Digital is virtually instant: You see the image right away, and if you have a decent quality printer and photo paper, you can have a print within seconds.

I can’t speak for every fan out there, but I know I’m not the only person who likes instant photography because of its inherent flaws, not in spite of them. Every instant print is a never to be duplicated image. The flaws are real and unique, not phony purposefully-generated flaws that could be replicated ad infinitum on a computer.

It’s the same reason why I think $250 is a fair price to pay for a Lomo LC-A+. Yes, I could generate the same look with a digital camera and photo editing software. But I like that I don’t have as much control over analogue film. Photography nowadays is too perfect, too controlled. Giving up some of that control can be frustrating, but it can also be exhilarating.

Leave a Reply

