in which i lose my gymginity

On Friday I joined my first gym ever, and this morning I went for the first time. I always thought I would feel self-conscious in a gym, but I should have known myself better. Like I really care if some bimbo wearing a full face of make-up and who’s only there to get hit on by some douchebag blasting his quads is thinking that this fat chick looks funny when she stretches. Suck it, gymbos!

“Gym” is easy to combine with other words, BTW.

It’s one of these gyms. I didn’t really have a choice, unless I wanted to drive to Lafayette every morning, but I like it. They don’t turn you into some kind of indentured workout servant by forcing you to sign a contract (it’s month-to-month), and it’s 24-7. I dunno, maybe gym afficionados would scoff at it as a “girl gym”, but I think it’s…cute. Like, all the machines have these rounded edges and big buttons and everything is very shiny, and it’s quiet because everyone is listening to their own music with headphones.

The cardio machines all have their own TVs. You can read subtitles, or plug your own headphones into them for sound. Monday, Wednesday, and Friday are going to be cardio days for me — I’m not interested in building a lot of muscle or even losing weight so much as I am just general tone and fitness — and I did a half hour on the exercise bike and a half hour on the treadmill. At first I had on CNN, but then all the wingnut talking heads showed up and started barking insanely about healthcare, and I figured that probably wasn’t doing anything good for my blood pressure and overall well-being. So I switched to one of Spike TV’s frequent million hour CSI: marathons and just zoned out.

The funny thing is I only got about 4 hours of sleep last night, and I felt terrible this morning. I was sure I was going to pass out or otherwise horribly embarass myself; but once I hit my stride I totally forgot how bad I felt.

Anyway, the plan is to go every weekday for an hour (Tuesday and Thursday I will use at least 3 of the machines, and just keep rotating them). I don’t want to be one of those dumbasses that totally overdoes it and winds up tearing or pulling something incredibly painful. For now I like to go between breakfast and lunch, but when I get a job I will probably go after work. I am NOT a morning person.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cha0tic
    Mar 22, 2010 @ 16:18:11

    I don’t know if it would be practical, as I don’t know what sort of distance you have to travel, but if you got a bike, you’d get some exercise just getting around.

  2. pinstripebindi
    Mar 22, 2010 @ 16:21:52

    That wouldn’t be practical. At all. I just moved to a rural area where the heat and humidity combined for most of the year would drop an elephant and where I’m almost certainly going to be working about 20 miles from where I live.

    The reason why I joined a gym is because for the past 3 years I was getting exercise by not owning a car, and I can’t do that here.

Leave a Reply

