softies, round 2: green tea bag

I asked for this book for Christmas, but for some reason didn’t get it. It was backordered at the store, maybe? I forget. Anyway, check out the crazy cheap price Amazon has it for: $3.99! Although 4 of the designs are duplicates from a book I already have, and one is an amigurumi and I don’t crochet. Still, 20 patterns for 4 bucks, that’s pretty good.

I got it last night, a day earlier than I was expecting it, and got right to work on this cute little tea bag. I dunno, do you think the slanty eyes are a wee bit OMGRACIST, or am I just being PC? I also think the pink cheeks are a little too big, even though I made them smaller than the design specified.

I think I’m going to make 2 more in different colors like the book suggests, grey for Earl Grey and yellow for chamomile. I bought these adorable googly eyes (with lashes!) ate Michael’s this morning, they should be just the right size. (I needed googly eyes for my next softie — a whale — and couldn’t resist getting the lashed ones too, even though they’re too small for the whale. I figured something would turn up that I could use them on eventually.)

Speaking of tea, my sister gave me a variety of teas and digestive biscuits for Christmas, and now I am completely hooked on PG Tips and McVities’ Milk Chocolate Digestives. PG Tips is like what you think of when you think the word “tea”; and in Notes on a Small Island, Bill Bryson called the chocolate digestive “a British masterpiece”.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. smileyeyes
    Jan 25, 2010 @ 20:03:51

    SO cute!

  2. marianela
    Mar 09, 2011 @ 02:50:48

    this is so cute…can we get pattern from somewhere?????
    gorgeous colours!

  3. pinstripebindi
    Mar 09, 2011 @ 05:40:10

    Yes, you can buy the book just like I did.

Leave a Reply

