black & white holga, louisiana, august 2009

I’m really going to try to not take this long in developing the 120 rolls I shot over Christmas. I’m sending the 35mm from the Golden Half today, and I will send the rolls from the Diana F+ as soon as I finish the roll in the camera, which I am trying to do today.

This is at the ‘rents old house, which hasn’t been fixed or sold yet. We went there one day to dump some crab shells into the lake. Mom claims they get eaten by turtles. You definitely don’t want to put them in your trash unless the very next day is Trash Day, because WOW. That’s a powerful odor.

This was the view from their backyard. While it’s pretty, you can kind of see why they had catastrophic flooding and storm surge twice in 3 years.

August is crab season. I don’t really care for boiled crabs — while I love crab meat, I don’t find it worth the effort of breaking open those hard shells, digging out tiny shreds of meat, cutting your hands up and getting spicy boil into the cuts. I prefer getting dishes in restaurants that have the crab already extracted for you, like crabmeat au gratin or stuffed crabs. Crawfish is more my thing, because the effort is lower and the meat even tastier.

You can see Sheila lurking between Mom and Granny. She died a couple months later. Mom and Phil haven’t been without a dog since before leaving Fremont, the house felt really empty this trip. However, I think I’ll probably be with them when Mom decides it’s time for another one, which means: Puppy! Yay!! There hasn’t been a puppy in the house since Indy was a puppy more than 10 years ago. Snowshoe and Sheila were both acquired as adolescents.

Leave a Reply

