felties & mini cameras

  • Samurai Cat: I don’t think samurai wore rice farmer’s hats, but okay.
  • Retro Alien: This one cracks me up and is one of my favorites.
  • Vivid Squirrel: The design on this one was kind of weird. It was supposed to be looking up, I guess, because the eyes were way at the top of the head. But the nose was on the VERY top of the head, and I kept thinking “But if it lowered its head, the nose would be ABOVE the eyes, and that makes no sense.” And it really, really bugged me, so I decided to make it face-forward and put the nose in the middle of the face and the eyes above it.
  • Pirate Mouse: The bullet-stuffed (silver bugle beads) bandolier came out perfect. And I like her ears. (I have decided it is a lady mouse pirate. Arrr!)

In other news, I turned 35 several days ago, and my mother still asks me for a Christmas list. Whenever I tease her about it, she says “Well, how am I supposed to know what you want without one?” Perfectly logical, yet it still tickles me.

The item that is this year’s OMG MUST HAVE OR I WILL DIE (or more likely, just buy it myself) is a SuperHeadz Golden Half camera. It’s a mini 35mm camera, which means it takes 2 photos on each negative. You can either cut the prints in half for a mini photo, or (much more interesting) make both images relate to each other in some way, like a diptych.

I’ve been researching mini cameras for a while and was struggling with the choice between the Golden Half and the Diana Mini. My first instinct was to go with the DM, because I love my F+. But I also heard a lot of good things about the GH, and when I did some reading, I noticed a lot of bad reviews for the DM, and not just from the usual suspects who don’t “get” Lomography and are always ready to bash any lomo cam.

Basically it seems like the DM has gone beyond the acceptable “cheap toy” assemblage and into “cheap junk”. A lot of users complain parts break and/or scratch the negatives on the first roll. And everyone says the shutter release is so stiff that they always wind up shaking the camera. It does have more options than the GH: 4 focal settings (the GH has a fixed focus), and the option to get single square format exposures.

But you know, I have an F+ AND a Holga, and I don’t really need another camera that takes murky, fuzzy photos. GH users say the camera is sturdy and takes really nice crisp photos. It also has a really wide lens for the size, which I find intriguing. It doesn’t come with a flash, but it has a hot shoe, and I have an adapter for my Diana flash, so I can use that (I adore that flash).

Maybe one day when I have a job again I’ll get a Diana Mini as well, but right now I want the Golden Half a lot more. The only problem is getting my mother to get over her outdated paranoia of shopping online. SuperHeadz is a Japanese company, and the only brick and mortar stores that seem to be selling the GH in the US is Urban Outfitters. But I don’t think she’s going to want to go to New Orleans or Baton Rouge just to get me a Christmas present.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jo Coles
    May 24, 2010 @ 00:39:54

    Wow! They turned out great! I have the ‘Felties’ book from the library at the moment, and have made Babushka, lion, retro alien, pensive rabbit + teddy bear. Aren’t they the cutest!! I agree that the cutting out is hideous!! btw I Googled ‘Felties’ and came to this site! 🙂

Leave a Reply

