2 things which i recently discovered & which i like

Blogging about things that I hate = too easy.

dead-like-meLast night SciFi (I’m sorry, I absolutely refuse to use the ridiculous name Syfy) played the direct-to-DVD Dead Like Me movie, and it interested me enough to make me add the series to my Netflix queue. God, Brian Fuller can’t catch a break, can he? I think he’s just a shade too whimsical for American television. We Yanks are simply not, on the whole, a whimsical people. (Most present company excluded, probably.)

What goes with early cancellation? Wine! Specifically, Contadino Pinto Grigio Vivace from Trader Joe’s for $6.99. The “Vivace” part means bubbles. That’s right, it’s a sparkling Pinot Grigio, and it is my new best friend. It’s fruity, but not like, sickly sweet fruity. More like how a grapefruit can be said to be “fruity” in that it is indeed a fruit. (Does that make any sense? I swear I am not actually still drunk, I finished the bottle last night.) There’s a nice light acidy finish that doesn’t take the roof of your mouth off. And I can tell you from firsthand experience that it goes really well with goat cheese.

In other news, I would have had another softie finished over the weekend but I accidentally bought polyester batting instead of polyester fiberfill. Who hasn’t made THAT mistake, eh? Actually, this is a really good hobby to take up during unemployment because felt is only either 29 or 99 cents a sheet, depending on the size. A bag of fiberfill big enough for several projects is usually less than $5. And things like floss and beads and such I of course already have.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maude
    Nov 24, 2009 @ 03:33:17

    And yet, Heroes is still on the air. Where’s the cancellation magic of Brian Fuller gone now?

  2. pinstripebindi
    Nov 24, 2009 @ 12:45:19

    Heroes was created by Tim Kring.

  3. Maude
    Nov 25, 2009 @ 16:09:59

    Fuller wrote and produced some of the episodes.

  4. pinstripebindi
    Nov 30, 2009 @ 13:27:47

    Yes, he briefly wrote for the show after the cancellation of Pushing Daisies. However, he had no part in its creation. And I’m pretty sure he has since left the writing staff to develop his next project — which will probably wind up being cancelled. *angry face*

Leave a Reply

