last time i was unmployed, it was scrapbooking

softie cakeI always seem to discover a new craft when I find myself out of work. (Although I really ought to be concentrating on Granny’s Christmas present. Never mind!) Lately I’m obsessed with “softies”, little kawaii handstitched felt and stuffing creations that serve no purpose other than to collect dust and look cute.

This my first finish, sorry for the poor quality cell phone pic. There was supposed to be a little whipped cream detail on top, but I just couldn’t make it look right.; and after 3 tries I was out of white felt and developing a serious of case of “I-hate-it-itis”. I may try again when it’s not nearly midnight and I am not one needle prick away from setting my entire craft supply on fire.

Later today I am off to stock up on colored felt and fiberfill, ready to try something a little more ambitious.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. misskate
    Nov 13, 2009 @ 13:18:10

    Unemployed? the last time you were unemployed? I feel like I’ve missed some huge memo.
    The softie is very cute and very sweet looking. Can’t wait to see your next project.

  2. pinstripebindi
    Nov 16, 2009 @ 13:00:10

    Oh yeah, I guess I haven’t mentioned it in this blog. I don’t really like going into a lot of detail about my personal life here, since it’s open to any deranged crackpot that might wander by. Also my posts here feed into my Facebook as notes.

    Anyway, I’ve been unemployed as of October 30, and that’s really all I feel comfortable disclosing.

  3. misskate
    Nov 17, 2009 @ 03:32:40

    Holy crap! Well, I will cross fingers, toes, whatever that some fantastic opportunity comes along for you. And in the meantime, I look forward to the creative results of you having more time. Dead Like Me is awesome! I want to go to the Waffle House and I really want the Happy Time smiley as a screensaver.

Leave a Reply

