so long, stinktown!

I’ve booked my cab ride to the airport, printed my boarding passes, and made my packing list. I’m ready to GO. Two weeks away from work! I could be spending it installing plumbing in a steaming hot third world country, and it would still feel like a vacation. Instead I will be spending it with my family, who I both love and like — so unhipsterish of me! — and eating copious amounts of Cajun food. There will probably be lots of Pinot Grigio drinking as well, knowing my mother/sister/aunt.

My mother emailed me the catered menu for Granny’s 90th birthday party last week, and ohhhmygod:

  • Hot crab dip
  • Shrimp & chicken salad sandwiches
  • Brisket (with rolls so you can make brisket sandwiches)
  • Boudin balls
  • Cheese & grapes platter
  • Rice dressing
  • Jalapeño peppers stuffed with crab and deep-fried

If you have never had a boudin ball before, you should remedy that. If boudin is like eating a spicy cloud, boudin balls are like eating baby angels.

I’m not sure if my mother’s horrible older sister and her even more horrible husband are making an appearance. We can’t stop them from flying in, but the party is in my parent’s house (it’s an open house from 2-6, so people will be coming and going), and they are Not Welcome there. My mother isn’t even mad at them anymore, if she ever was. I think she was more hurt and disappointed after the final straw. She just has nothing to say to them. Which is more neutral than most of her kids feel; we all actively loathe both of them. Jamie says if they show up, “I’m putting Sarah in the doorway”. Apparently, I have a bit of a reputation in my family. I can’t imagine where that came from.

The thing that I can’t forgive is what they said about Phil (“I wouldn’t let him work on a dead alligator”). His whole entire life, practically, has been about being a doctor. Whether that was out of altruism or because he enjoys it is irrelevant; the end result is the same: he’s spent his life improving other people’s lives. To malign that out of petty, ugly small-mindedness… I just can’t forgive it.

Besides, what the hell has either one of those assholes ever done for the world? Linda married a man rich enough to allow her to never leave her apartment again; Larry bullied and screamed at people and called it “finances” (and it’s all crumbled to dust, they lost most of it in the most recent economic implosion), and together they raised 3 kids my mother oh-so-accurately described as “boils on the butt of humanity”.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Zari
    Aug 16, 2009 @ 15:41:56

    Have a terrific time!!~ Nothing better than being with family.. and a little family drama makes for juicy blog material when you get back. 😀

  2. Noel
    Aug 25, 2009 @ 04:15:13

    hi sarah. i came across your blog in google and noticed that you’re quite pro at using the diana f+ camera so i was wondering if you could give me some help. i just recently bought the instant back but am having touble with it. most of the time the polaroids come out all black, others i can barely see anything. i’m not sure whether it’s because its not receiving the light or sth but i’m taking the pictures in my room so normal lighting dont think it’s too dark. is it possible for you to email me or something. thank you so so much in advance 🙂 x

  3. pinstripebindi
    Aug 25, 2009 @ 18:34:48

    Are you actually taking the photograph with the shutter release on the camera? Because all pushing the button on the back does is eject the instant photo — it does not open the shutter. Don’t feel stupid, I wasted a whole pack of film before I figured this out. *facepalm*

    Otherwise, maybe there isn’t enough light? If you’re not in bright daylight, you need a flash. Beyond that, I’d have to refer you to Lomography. They have pretty good customer service.

  4. Noel
    Aug 25, 2009 @ 21:10:26

    yeahh i did press down the shutter release thing on the camera.. i think it might be the problem with light.. cuz when i shot directly at a lamp or at the screen of my laptop something showed up.. but normally without the back i can shoot things under normal light.. does this mean that the back makes the camera take in less light?

    thank you so much for helping 🙂

  5. pinstripebindi
    Aug 25, 2009 @ 21:41:36

    I’ve never even tried to use the Diana indoors without a flash, frankly I don’t think there would be enough light. If you don’t have the Diana flash you should definitely consider picking one up, I think it’s worth the price.

    If shooting in bright daylight, or indoors with the flash, still results in black photos, then there’s a problem with the back and you’ll have to contact Lomography. Good luck!

  6. Noel
    Aug 28, 2009 @ 10:24:27

    thank you so much.. imma get a flash for it and see how it goes 🙂

Leave a Reply

