outfit of the day: holy peacocks

ootd holy peacocksI decided to go ahead and order that dress that I thought might be too small. I could always return it, right? Turns out it fits, so yay, now I have a grey dress in my arsenal.

The socks are from Sock Dreams, and the shoes are the same ones I wore yesterday. Actually, I’m finding they go with a lot more of my stuff than I would have thought. The rosary is one my mother bought for me at the St. Louis Cathedral gift shop. It has a drop of water from Lourdes in the center. The peacock is one of the symbols of the Virgin Mary, GET IT?? Also the ausetrity of the dress kind of makes me think of something nuns might wear. Okay okay, I’m stretching it.

I have a silver cuff bracelet that would be a perfect finishing touch to this outfit, and I’m kicking myself for not having thought of it until now.

This dress’s belt isn’t sewn to the dress itself, so I could theoretically accessorize with belts. But I don’t really like belts, because I have a short torso/high waist. I always look like some 90-year-old Florida retiree with my pants hiked up to my ears.

Putting the camera on my desk sure makes my head look small. I know it’s not really that small, because I’m one of those people who have a hard time finding hats that fit!

peacock socksHere’s a close-up of the socks, because they are awesome.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rian G.
    Jul 10, 2009 @ 00:16:31

    Those socks are awesome! Do you have a close-up pic of the rosary? Did you get that when we were there last Christmas?

  2. pinstripebindi
    Jul 10, 2009 @ 08:07:17

    No, I got that on my first trip to New Orleans after the ‘rents moved to Louisiana. After Mom and I dropped you off at the airport, we went into the city, just the 2 of us.

    This year I would really like to see a different part of New Orleans, maybe the Faubourg Marigny, but it’s so hard to get them out of their comfort zones. Mom doesn’t even seem like she enjoys the city since Katrina.

Leave a Reply

