outfit of the day + bonus yucky medical stuff

chambray shirt dress and cupcake socks

This is the other shirt dress I bought at Target. It’s identical to the black one, except for the color. Man, I ironed it after I washed it, but it looks really wrinkled in this photo.

The Uniform Project uses a lot of dickies and tank tops to change the look of her dress, but hers doesn’t have a collar. That would look pretty stupid with a collared dress, so I should try to find at least one scoop neck dress. For now I just have a tan tee shirt underneath. Plus my cupcake socks! My feet got cut off again, but the shoes are just my old brown mary janes.

An idea I had, besides thrifting, was to go to Daiso and a get a bunch of furoshiki. They’re only $1.50 each, and you can do a lot of different things with them: Head bands, neckerchiefs, etc.

You’ll forgive me leaving my sunglasses on, because when I woke up this morning, my left eyelid was all swollen up. It’s totally freaky; it was fine when I went to bed, and there’s no bruising or pus or even pain. My doctor is on vacation this week, so I called the 24 hour nurse hotline United Healthcare has. She thinks it’s a blocked tear duct (I guess you have them inside your eyelid, too) that’s causing a build up of fluid. She said warm compresses (a damp, hot washcloth) for 10-15 minutes several times a day should cause it to clear up within 48 hours, and it’s already starting to go down.

I came in to work because I can do that here, and I don’t see the point of staying home just because of a swollen eyelid. It doesn’t hurt, and it’s not contagious. Plus we have tomorrow off and I have a thousand and one things that NEED to be done today. (Did I mention my boss quit? Her last day was Tuesday, so we’re kind of understaffed at the mo’.) I’m just gonna keep my sunglasses on. The swelling is barely noticable now, but I feel weird without any eye make-up. I feel naked!

My other option was the ER, but that seems kind of douchey. “Excuse me, domestic abuse victims and people with shattered bones! BUT MY LEFT EYELID IS SLIGHTLY ASKEW!!!” Plus I’m reluctant to spend $50 just to be told what I’m 99% sure I already know: warm compresses, 10-15 minutes, several times a day. Cash or charge?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julie
    Jul 02, 2009 @ 16:14:14

    I like that one too! Scarves would look good with both of those dresses. I always want to buy scarves but like jewelery, I end up taking them off because they arent comfortable.

  2. pinstripebindi
    Jul 02, 2009 @ 17:09:04

    Scarves are definately on my future accessories list, but not until fall!

Leave a Reply

